top of page

Vitamin D receptor blockade (VDR blockade)

Vitamin D stimulates our immune system. This is widely known. It is less well known that the prerequisite for this is that the vitamin D receptors of the cells must be freely accessible to vitamin D. The receptors are docking points through which the vitamin D effect is mediated. If they are blocked, the vitamin D effect cannot unfold. Of course, viruses and bacteria have no interest in being destroyed by the immune system. In the course of evolution, they have therefore developed mechanisms to block the receptor and thereby protect themselves.

It has been proven that the Epstein-Barr virus (pathogen of glandular fever) downregulates the receptor 10-fold, i.e. it weakens the effect of vitamin D 10-fold.  Similar effects are known from the tuberculosis bacterium, the mold Aspergillus fumigatus, borrelia, chlamydia, hepatitis C virus and cytomegalovirus. There are certainly more pathogens capable of doing this, but the investigation methods are complex and have not yet been applied to all pathogens. The blockage can be verified by a laboratory test. Here the ratio of the vitamin D components 1.25 OH D3 to 25-OH D3 is determined. If the ratio is greater than 1.3, this is referred to as a VDR blockade. When vitamin D3 is administered, it is converted into the active form 1.25 OH D3. This form then supports the immune system in the fight against the pathogens. However, since the receptor of the cells is blocked, the 1.25 OH D3 cannot start here to unfold its effect. This means that more and more of this vitamin D form is formed, which is suspected of fueling inflammation in the body. Research is being conducted on this topic at Sichuan University's West China Hospital and in the United States. It's not all settled yet. Theoretically, vitamin D3 should have a harmful effect due to the inflammation it causes. In fact, an improvement is often observed in MS with the administration of vitamin D3. The question arises whether MS always presents a VDR blockade? Very likely not. But even if vitamin D3 is effective in MS with proven blockade, this does not argue against the adverse effect of VDR blockade. From pharmacology we know the mechanism of competitive inhibition of a receptor. That means 2 substances, eg an endogenous substance and a pharmacological one, compete to occupy a receptor. In this way, one can displace the other from the receptor, especially if they are in the majority. That would also be conceivable for the VDR. If the amount of 1.25 OH D3 increases significantly due to massive vitamin D3 administration, a displacement of the blocking substances from the VDR is at least partially conceivable. This could then develop a vitamin D effect. We even know such mechanisms from the animal kingdom. A lion is stronger than a hyena. The lion does not let her drive him away from a prey. If you increase the number of hyenas, the hyenas will annoy the lion until it lets go of the prey. The connection to the "receptor"  Beute   is broken by the majority of hyenas. The comparison is a bit flimsy because VDR blockade is not about psychological warfare but about biochemical binding affinities, but the example can serve as a better illustration.  We do not know all the mechanisms of the VDR blockade, but like many other therapists, it seems sensible to me to free the receptor in order to increase the effect of vitamin D3 on the immune system._cc781905-5cde- 3194-bb3b-136bad5cf58d_ 

But how do you get the receptor free again?

It was discovered by chance that the antihypertensive drug olmesartan does this. However, this can also cause problems when prescribing antihypertensive drugs to patients who have VDR blockade but no high blood pressure. In addition, the dose has to be increased above the usual level for blood pressure therapy. A high blood pressure patient usually receives a daily dose of 40 mg. For the therapy of the receptor blockade, the 4-fold dose is necessary. This can not only lead to unwanted severe drops in blood pressure, but also to a considerable financial burden, because the dose of olmesartan is expensive.

Prof. Marshall discovered the VDR blockade and wrote a protocol for the treatment. my friend dr Jürgen Aschoff (Wuppertal) dealt meticulously with the subject and he succeeded in developing globules to free the receptor that do not result in a reduction in blood pressure.  The results of his follow-up on numerous patients are impressive. He taught me the diagnostic measures for the VDR blockade and made the globules available to interested colleagues and to me.

If there is a deterioration or even an initial aggravation when taking it, this can be easily explained. By freeing the receptor, the immune system begins to work. Among other things, inflammatory substances are released during the defense against pathogens, which lead to the typical feeling of infection. Fever can also occur due to the release of the receptor. This is irritating for patients and the dose of globules should then be reduced first. This raises the question: Was the patient with the VDR blockade healthy? No - the pathogens are present, but the body does not fight against them. That's why there doesn't seem to be any symptoms.

Knowing the problem solved a decades-long puzzle for me. During my studies, my friend, who was a naturopath before studying, said that cancer patients often told their therapists that the disease hit them "out of the blue". They had been free of infection and not ill for 20 years and then the catastrophe. I had no theory about this. Approximately 10 years later I read the facts mentioned again at the gas station in a headline and an article in the Bild newspaper. The Bildzeitung cannot be described as a medical training journal, but I was still amazed at the written memory of the mysterious connection.

I discussed it with naturopathic and holistically oriented colleagues, but we did not come to a conclusive solution to the puzzle. Only 30 years later in the lecture by Dr. Aschhoff found the solution. The VDR blockade largely prevents the symptoms of infection such as fever, but the pathogens are there. And it is obvious that VDR and the suppression of the immune system associated with it lead to more frequent cancers.

In addition, VDR blockade can cause or contribute to the following symptoms and diseases:

Bipolar Disorder, Depression, Panic Attacks, Dementia, Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, Autism (Asperger's Syndrome), Chronic Fatigue (CFS), Barret Esophagus, Crohn's Disease, Ulcerative Colitis, Type I and II Diabetes Mellitus, Diabetes Insipidus, Hshimoto's Thyroiditis, Epilepsy, arrhythmia, Lyme disease, lupus erythematosus, multiple chemical sensitivity (MCS), fibromyalgia, epilepsy, Bechterew's disease, Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, migraine, neuropathies, arthritis, chronic polyarthritis, myasthenia gravis, kidney stones, fungal infections, including des Darmes, psoriasis (psoriasis), psoriatic arthritis, sarcoid, Raynaud's syndrome, Sjögren's syndrome, M. Sudeck, scleroderma, uveitis, vertigo, cystitis chronica (chronic bladder infection), celiac disease, M. Reiter's irritable bowel syndrome, reflux disease, restless leg syndrome, Prostatitis (inflammation of the prostate, postural tachycardia syndrome (POTS), light-headedness and dizziness when getting up from a lying position)

 

In a study, patients were examined for the above diagnosis. With treatment, symptom improvement was observed in 81% of patients over a period of 18 to 53 months. It may therefore take some time and the VDR blockade should be checked in the laboratory.

Did you recognize symptoms? In any case, it is worth examining the VDR.  

Close-up of virus cells or bacteria on l
bottom of page

Vitamin-D-Rezeptor-Blockade (VDR-Blockade)

Vitamin D stimuliert unser Immunsystem. Das ist weitgehend bekannt. Weniger bekannt ist, dass die Voraussetzung dafür ist, dass die Vitamin-D-Rezeptoren der Zellen für Vitamin D frei zugänglich sein müssen. Die Rezeptoren sind Andockstellen, über die die Vitamin-D-Wirkung vermittelt wird. Sind sie blockiert, kann sich die Vitamin-D-Wirkung nicht entfalten. Natürlich haben Viren und Bakterien kein Interesse daran, vom Immunsystem vernichtet zu werden. Im Laufe der Evolution haben sie deshalb Mechanismen entwickelt, den Rezeptor zu blockieren und sich dadurch zu schützen.

So wurde nachgewiesen, dass der Epstein-Barr-Virus (Erreger des Pfeifferschen Drüsenfiebers) den Rezeptor 10 fach herunterreguliert, also die Wirkung von Vitamin D 10fach abschwächt.  Ähnliche Wirkungen sind bekannt vom Tuberkulose-Bakterium, dem Schimmelpils Aspergillus fumigatus, Borrelien, Chlamydien, Hepatitis-C-Virus und Cytomegalie-Virus. Sicherlich sind noch mehr Erreger dazu in der Lage, aber die Untersuchungsmethoden sind aufwendig und wurden noch nicht auf alle Erreger angewendet. Nachzuweisen ist die Blockade über einen Labortest. Hier wird das Verhältnis der Vitamin-D-Komponenten 1,25 OH D3 zu 25-OH D3 bestimmt. Ist das Verhältnis größer als 1,3, so spricht man von der VDR-Blockade.Bei Gabe von Vitamin D3 wird dieses in die aktive Form 1,25 OH D3 umgewandelt. Diese Form unterstützt dann das Immunsystem im Kampf gegen die Erreger. Da der Rezeptor der Zellen jedoch blockiert ist, kann das 1,25 OH D3 hier nicht ansetzen, um seine Wirkung zu entfalten. Damit wird immer mehr von dieser Vitamin-D-Form gebildet, welches in Verdacht steht, Entzündungen im Körper anzuheizen. Es wird an diesem Thema im West China Hospital der Sichuan University und in den USA geforscht. Es ist noch nicht alles geklärt. Theoretisch müssten sich Vitamin D3 Gaben durch die dadurch verursachte Entzündung schädlich auswirken. Tatsächlich wird bei MS durch Gabe von Vitamin D3 dennoch häufig eine Besserung beobachtet. Es stellt sich die Frage, ob bei MS immer eine VDR-Blockade vorlegt? Sehr wahrscheinlich nicht. Aber selbst wenn Vitamin D3 bei MS mit nachgewiesener Blockade wirkt, spricht das nicht gegen die ungünstige Auswirkung der VDR-Blockade. Aus der Pharmakologie kennen wir den Mechanismus der kompetetiven Hemmung eines Rezeptors. Das heißt 2 Substanzen, z.B. eine Körpereigenen und Pharmakologische wetteifern um die Besetzung eines Rezeptors. So kann die eine die andere wieder vom Rezeptor verdrängen, vor allem, wenn sie in der Überzahl ist. Das wäre auch beim VDR denkbar. Wenn sich die Menge an 1,25 OH D3 durch massive Vitamin D3 Gabe stark erhöht, ist eine Verdrängung der blockierenden Substanzen vom VDR zumindest teilweise denkbar. Dadurch könnte sich dann doch eine Vitamin D Wirkung entfalten. Solche Mechanismen kennen wir sogar aus dem Tierreich. Ein Löwe ist stärker als eine Hyäne. Der Löwe lässt sich nicht von ihr von einer Beute vertreiben. Erhöht man die Anzahl der Hyänen, nerven die Hyänen den Löwen so lange, bis er von der Beute ablässt. Die Bindung zum „Rezeptor“  Beute  wird also durch die Überzahl an Hyänen gebrochen. Der Vergleich hinkt etwas, weil es bei der VDR-Blockade nicht um psychologische Kriegsführung, sondern um biochemische Bindungsaffinitäten geht, aber das Beispiel kann der besseren Veranschaulichung dienen.  Wir kennen nicht alle Mechanismen der VDR-Blockade , aber dennoch erscheint es mir wie vielen anderen Therapeuten sinnvoll, den Rezeptor zu befreien, um die Wirkung von Vitamin D3 auf das Immunsystem zu erhöhen.  

Doch wie bekommt man den Rezeptor wieder frei?

Durch Zufall wurde entdeckt, dass der Blutdrucksenker Olmesartan dies bewerkstelligt. Allerdings kann das auch Probleme mit sich bringen, wenn man Blutdrucksenker Patienten verordnet, die die VDR-Blockade haben, aber keinen erhöhten Blutdruck. Dazu kommt noch, dass die Dosis über das gewohnte Maß bei der Blutdrucktherapie gesteigert werden muss. Ein Bluthochdruckpatient erhält üblicherweise eine Tagesdosis von 40 mg. Zur Therapie der Rezeptorblockade ist die 4fache Dosis notwendig. Das kann nicht nur zu ungewollten starken Blutdruckabsenkungen führen, sondern auch zur erheblichen finanziellen Belastung, denn Olmesartan in der Dosis ist teuer.

Prof. Marshall entdeckte die VDR-Blockade und verfasste ein Protokoll für die Behandlung. Mein Freund Dr. Jürgen Aschoff (Wuppertal) befasste sich akribisch mit dem Thema und es gelang ihm, Globuli zu Befreiung des Rezeptors zu entwickeln, die keine Blutdrucksenkung zur Folge haben.  Die Ergebnisse seiner Verlaufsbeobachtung bei zahlreichen Patienten sind beeindruckend. Er vermittelte mir die diagnostischen Maßnahmen zur VDR-Blockade und stellt interessierten Kollege wie auch mir die Globuli zur Verfügung.

Wenn es bei Einnahme zu einer Verschlechterung oder auch Erstverschlimmerung kommt, so ist das leicht erklärbar. Durch die Befreiung des Rezeptors beginnt das Immunsystem zu arbeiten. Unter anderem werden bei der Erregerabwehr Entzündungsstoffe freigesetzt, die zum typischen Infektgefühl führen. Auch Fieber kann durch die Befreiung des Rezeptors auftreten. Das ist irritierend für Patienten und die Dosis der Globuli sollte dann zunächst verringert werden. Da stellt sich die Frage: War der Patient mit der VDR-Blockade denn gesund? Nein- die Erreger sind anwesend, aber der Körper kämpft nicht dagegen. Deshalb gibt es scheinbar auch keine Symptome.

Die Kenntnis der Problematik löste für mich ein jahrzehntelanges Rätsel. Im Studium sagte mein Freund, der vor dem Studium Heilpraktiker war, dass Krebspatienten oft ihren Therapeuten berichtet hätten, dass sie die Erkrankung „aus heiterem Himmel“ getroffen habe. Sie seien 20 Jahre lang infektfrei und nicht krank gewesen und dann die Katastrophe. Ich hatte dazu keine Theorie. Ca. 10 Jahre später las ich den genannten Sachverhalt noch einmal an der Tankstelle in einer Schlagzeile und einem Artikel der Bildzeitung. Die Bildzeitung kann man zwar nicht als medizinische Fortbildungszeitschrift bezeichnen, aber dennoch wunderte ich mich über die jetzt schriftliche Erinnerung an den rätselhaften Zusammenhang.

Ich diskutierte es mit naturheilkundlich und ganzheitlich orientierten Kollegen, aber wir kamen zu keiner schlüssigen Auflösung des Rätsels. Erst 30 Jahre später im Vortrag von Dr. Aschhoff fand sich die Lösung. Die VDR-Blockade verhindert weitgehend die Infektsymptome wie z.B. Fieber, aber die Erreger sind da. Und dass sich bei der VDR und der damit verbundenen Unterdrückung des Immunsystems häufiger Krebserkrankungen ergeben, ist naheliegend.

Außerdem kann die VDR-Blockade folgende Symptome und Krankheiten bedingen oder dazu beitragen:

Bipolare Störung, Depression, Panikattacken, Demenz, Zwangsstörungen, Amyotrohpe Lateralsklerose, Autismus (Asperger Syndrom), chronische Müdigkeit (CFS), Barret-Ösophagus, Morbus Crohn, Colitis ulcerosa, Diabetes mellitus Typ I und II, Diabetes insipidus, Hshimoto-Thyreoiditis, Epilepsie, Rhythmusstörungen, Borreliose, Lupus erythematodes, Multiple Chemiekalien-Sensitivität (MCS), Fibromyalgie, Epilepsie, M. Bechterew, M. Parkinson, Multiple Sklerose, Migräne, Neuropathien, Arthritis, chronische Polyarthritis, Myasthenia gravis, Nierensteine, Pilzinfektionen, auch des Darmes, Psoriasis (Schuppenflechte), Psoriasisarthritis, Sarkoidose, Raynaud-Syndrom, Sjögren-Syndrom, M. Sudeck, Sklerodermie, Uveitis, Vertigo, Zystitis chronica (chronische Blasenentzündung), Zöliakie, M. ReiterReizdarm, Reflux-Erkrankung, Restless Leg Syndrom, Prostatitis (Prostataentzündung, posturale Tachykardiesyndrom (POTS, Benommenheit und Schwindel bei Aufstehen aus dem Liegen)

 

In einer Studie wurden Patienten bezüglich 20 der o.g. Diagnose untersucht. Bei Behandlung wurde eine Symptomverbesserung bei 81% der Patienten in einem Zeitraum von 18 bis 53 Monaten beobachtet. Es dauert also unter Umständen einige Zeit und die VDR-Blockade sollte dabei laborchemisch kontrolliert werden.

Haben Sie Symptome wiedererkannt? In jedem Fall lohnt es sich den VDR zu untersuchen.  

  • Black Facebook Icon